Judy Rogers

If this blog had a “Life Ain’t Fair” category, this post would be in it. I had no idea Judy Rogers, famed owner and chef of San Francisco’s Zuni Cafe and author of the eponymous cookbook, was very ill. She died at age 57 after a having “been ill with a devastating cancer” for a little over a year.

Very sad. My spouse and I have had some memorable meals at Zuni. Even more memorable have been our home cooked renditions of her Roasted Chicken with Bread Salad (it takes some practice: zuni_cafe_chicken). Just one week ago today I used her cookbook to guide me in dry brining my Thanksgiving turkey. Thanks to her, it came out moist and flavorful even though I overcooked it.

This entry was posted in Personal, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

